Lucy Burscough

The Artist is IN! Inside the SketchOMatic at The Cornerhouse, Manchester

In Community Arts, Gallery/Museum Projects on 20/10/2012 at 18:51

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It is often the case that artists have to have many strings to their bows in order to make a living and I’m no exception. I often surprise myself with the variety of  projects I find myself working on, but today I took on a role that was decidedly different even for me: I  spent a hour as half artist/half machine as the moving parts of The Cornerhouse’s ‘SketchOMatic’ portraiture booth! What a  brilliant idea and loads of fun.

I sat behind a two-way mirror in a wee cubbie-hole while the customers experience was of a cartoonified passport photo-booth, even down to the presentation of the portraits via a drop-in slot! A hugely inventive and creative attraction which drew in the crowds and had the public queuing up to get their ‘SketchOMatic’  portraits. As in many aspects of life, the joy is in the detail, and with that in mind I have to congratulate The Cornerhouse for the quality of their engineering!

By the way, if you want to sign up to get email alerts letting you know when I publish new posts, there’s a button for that below.

  1. What a clever idea!!

  2. Is it a permanent fixture at the Cornerhouse?

    • No Rob. It’s been there for a week, running alongside the David Shrigley exhibition and opening last weekend as part of the ‘Manchester Weekender’ programme of events. The Cornerhouse did run it before, last year, so it may happen again. Today is the last day for this year, so you could still have a chance to see it in action.

Leave a Reply

