Lucy Burscough

Hi folks. Lucy Burscough here. I’m an artist based in Manchester, UK. Welcome to my blog.

In Paintings on 17/10/2012 at 17:30

I’m starting this blog to post images of my artwork as it progresses, write a little about the arts for health projects I work on and whatever else occurs to me as I go along, no doubt. 

Within my personal practice, I tend to paint portraits, but I’m having a little change of direction with my latest painting. Inspired by the somewhat ramshackle gorgeousness that’s in my garden, I’m really enjoying painting one of the many varieties of poppy-seed heads that do pop out of every nook and cranny. I love these papavers and meconopsis when they’re in flower but I’m always blown away by the beautiful ‘Statue of Liberty’s crown’ structures of the seed heads when the petals drop. No wonder they end up growing everywhere, it’s such a pleasure to give them a shake, see the natural salt cellars at work and disperse the tiny seeds in the process.

Here is the work in progress:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This one is an Opium poppy (Papaver somniferum).  Please feel free to leave comments and do pop back to see the painting finished.

Thanks for visiting!

  1. I’m loving this! Curious on your thoughts of how you might be painting this differently if photography was not ever invented. Of course your inspiration is not related, but the focus seems to be. Or maybe both are related.
    Thanks for the inspiration.

    • HI Jess,
      Thanks for taking a look at the blog!
      I see my photography, including the editing and cropping of images, as an integral part of my artistic process. When it comes to this poppy painting and the further garden paintings I’m planning to do, I have loads of photos of plants that I’ve been taking for the love of them, with no real thought of using them as reference for paintings until now, when I find myself spoiled for choice! I do love how a short focal length can make an object jump out of the fuzz of the background and think this works well in paintings too.
      In this part of the world, it’s great for the soul to have the images of the sunny garden to work with as the days get darker and it rains and rains and rains and rains. I crack open the cadmium yellow and brighten things up! x

  2. I am one of your dropped-mouth, awed to eye-popping fans! I am so looking forward to all you have done and will do. I was fascinated by the movement into realization that your painting took. I love when artists show that because it both entertains and teaches me.

  3. […] Today I had a really good chat with the artist Lucy Burscough about possibilities for future arts and health projects and I thought I'd share this wonderful painting of a Papaver somniferum seed head from her blog. I love the beautiful glaucus green of the ripening seed head. You can also see the work under construction in another of her posts here. […]

  4. […] the amazing hyperbolic crocheted coral reef in the exhibition and join artist Lucy Burscough to create your own crochet coral […]

Leave a Reply

